Officers

Tori HoltTori Holt, Truman State University ’16
National President
cknationalpresident@gmail.com

Education: I am in my senior year of nursing school at Truman State University.

Family: My family is absolutely incredible! My parents Vicki and Barry taught me to have a positive attitude and to care for those around me. I have a younger brother named Scott and we enjoy watching movies and Royals baseball together.

Occupation: Future nurse hoping to work with patients undergoing transplants!

Influences/ Who inspires you: My mom and dad inspire me. My mother was an incredible preschool teacher whose smile lit up every room she entered. Her life was filled with joy and she cared deeply about those around her. My dad is a social butterfly and does not know a stranger. He goes out of his way to do things for others and constantly puts others before himself.

Favorite CK Memory: My favorite thing about Cardinal Key is evident in many memories. I love that I am surrounded by a group of friends who constantly and consistently love and encourage me. I feel supported and know I am a valued member of our chapter. Whether we are playing Uno at Manor Care, mentoring at the middle school, or learning and educating others about JDRF, my heart is happy when I am with other Cardinal Keys.

Reason for joining the Board: Cardinal Key is a huge part of my life and I wanted to stay actively involved in the organization after my time at Truman. Joining the national board provided me with a great opportunity to learn more about Cardinal Key and continue to improve, grow and encourage individual members of Cardinal Key and the organization as a whole. I am very excited to learn more about Cardinal Key and love and serve it during my time as national president.

Favorite quotation: “I will hold myself to a standard of grace, not perfection” – Emily Ley  This is something I remind myself each and every day! Mistakes happen, we are messy people and perfection is unattainable.  Do your best and make the most of each day.

Passion: I love serving others.  I am an intentional relationship builder and I care about everyone I meet. I love to encourage others and strive to make everyone’s day better.  Serving others and lifting them up brings me joy. People are awesome!

Favorite simple pleasure: I love baking! Dancing around the kitchen, listening to music and singing along to my favorite songs while making muffins or cookies sounds like a great evening to me! I especially love sharing my baked goods with others. If I know that you have a test coming up, I do my best to surprise you with a sweet treat and note of encouragement. I also love baking cupcakes! My next challenge is making a great biscuit. If you have any suggestions or recipes, send them my way!

Superhero power: I would love to be able to fly! I think it would be amazing to feel the wind through my hair and to be able to get places more quickly!

Favorite band/ song: I am a HUGE Taylor Swift fan and I will admit that until the day I die!

Favorite food or meal: I love Italian food! Spaghetti, lasagna, ravioli, garlic bread…it is all delicious!

 

 

Bryson JacobsBryson Jacobs, University of Wyoming ‘17
National Vice President
cknationalvicepresident@gmail.com

Education: Over the course of the next year and a half I will be finishing up my time as a student at the University of Wyoming. I plan to graduate with my Bachelor of Science degree in Business Management with a concentration in Supply Chain Management. After graduation, I will make a decision regarding whether to attend law school (Duke University) or enter the workforce directly.

Family: My parents are small town farm kids from Eastern Colorado who raised their children with the utmost love and support. My brother (Spud- yes, as in potato) has been the best role model to me growing up, and my sister Katherine is a major influence on my life today.

Influences: My Parents, soccer coaches and teammates, Professor Missouri Downs, my friends, my sister, and most of all my brother.

Favorite CK Memory: Choosing a favorite CK memory from the national conference or from my chapter events was a surprisingly difficult task. Some things like running a chapter meeting for the first time, waking up at 6 am for the JDRF One walk, or trying to organize your own fundraising events seem like a daunting and arduous task leading up to them.  I have found that some of the most challenging aspects of CK have become my favorite. My absolute favorite CK memory; however, has to be doing the JDRF One walk during the National Conference in Atlanta. Despite the early start, cold morning, and general lack of sleep being able to volunteer with the other CK delegates at the national conference and help in raising 1.1M dollars for juvenile diabetes was my most memorable and enjoyable CK memory.

Reason for joining the Board: As a juvenile diabetic myself, being able to pour myself into Cardinal Key and work alongside JDRF as our national philanthropy is a dream come true.

Favorite quotation: You miss 100% of the shots you don’t take-Wayne Gretzky”-Michael Scott

Passion: Sports (NBA, NFL, and MLB), fishing, hiking, soccer, family, and chicken nuggets

What relaxes you?: My favorite thing to do to relax myself is to go hiking or mountain biking in Colorado. I love the mountains during all seasons and try to get out there as much as possible. When the weather is nice enough I love to go fishing at lakes and rivers.

What animal would you be and why: Most people have not heard of it, but if I was an animal I would be the Australian Quokka. The quokka is the happiest animal on planet earth, it literally cannot stop smiling.

Favorite vacation or dream vacation: My favorite vacation ever was my family’s trip to Hawaii two years ago. Apparently, Hawaii doesn’t get cold in December so that is amazing. We got to go deep sea fishing (my brother and I caught a 16-foot blue marlin!), learned how to surf, and got to hike to the top of The Big Island! If you’ve never been to Hawaii, I would highly recommend it.

 

 

Kurt EklundKurt Eklund, Northern Arizona University ‘17
National Parliamentarian
cknationalparliamentarian@gmail.com

Education: Mathematics with a minor in Physics and

Family: I have an older brother, Erik; an older sister, Rachel; and a younger sister, Elise.  My father is a nuclear engineer in Kansas and my mother is a realtor in Phoenix.  On top of that, I recently got engaged to my wonderful fiancée, Whitney.

Occupation: I am aspiring to become an actuary once I graduate college and am taking the necessary tests to achieve that goal.

Influences: My father has been the single biggest influence in my life.  His work ethic, perseverance, and sacrifices have helped shape me into the man I am today.

Favorite CK Moment: All the friendships I have developed with such a diverse group of people that I would have otherwise never met.

Reason for joining the board: Cardinal Key has been one of the single biggest parts of my life since coming to college and joining the National Board seemed like a great opportunity to get more involved with the organization as a whole.

Favorite Quotation: “I have had my results for a long time: but I do not yet know how I am to arrive at them.”  -Carl Friedrich Gauss

Favorite Book: “A Thousand Splendid Suns” by Khaled Hosseini

Favorite Meal: In-N-Out Burger

Favorite Simple Pleasure: Having a day where I have absolutely nothing that needs to get done.

 

  • Photos?

    Please send your pictures our way!

    Please feel free to tag the National Cardinal Key Facebook group in your CK photos or send them in a message. We would love to share what your chapter is doing.