Advisors

Chelsea Nwankwo, Southeastern OSU 2012
National Advisor

Education: I graduated from Southeastern Oklahoma State University in 2012 with a Bachelor of Science in Biology and a minor in Psychology. I am currently working on a second Bachelor from the University of Texas at Arlington.

 Occupation: I currently work as medical customer service advocate for an insurance company full time and as a part-time barista at a family member’s coffee shop. I am also a full-time student and currently working on starting my own freelance photography business.

Family: I do not have a significant other or kids yet lol, but I  do have a 1 year old calico named Peachy and a sweet niece named Nevaeh. I spend a lot of time with my niece being the cool aunt I was always meant to be as well as with my extended family and friends.

Influences: My influences are my niece and my mom. My niece because she pushes me to want to be a better person and role model everyday. My mom because of her extraordinary ability to always see the best in everything.

Favorite CK Memory: My favorite CK memory from my chapter is the annual candle lighting ceremony that has been held on campus since 1921. As a cardinal key member, we are responsible for lighting the candle as Southeastern Symphonic Choir sing. During this even we not only represent our school but cardinal key to all members of the community that attend the event.

Reason for joining the Board: I joined the board to give back to Cardinal Key and to help current and future cardinal key members in becoming the best person they can be through the organization.

Favorite Quotation: “The time is always right to do what is right.” – Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

Favorite Color:  My favorite colors are  wine, maroon, rustic pink, and black.

Favorite Food/ Meal: My favorite food is Tex-Mex, but my favorite single dish is macaroni and cheese.

Favorite simple pleasure: My absolute favorite thing to do is nap. I am a nap queen. I have a busy schedule always but any chance I get, I always try to squeeze a nap in!

What animal would you be and why: I would be a sloth because they eat and then sleep the majority of the day. They also just look super relaxed and happy all the time.

Gretchen Perez, Truman State University 2009
National Advisor

Education: I received my undergraduate degree in Communication Disorders and then my Master’s Degree in Special Education at Truman State University.  Since graduating I have take many classes to continue my education and further my career. I have taken classes to receive educational endorsements in Middle School Math and English as a Second Language.

Family: In the summer of 2015 I married my wonderful husband Joe Perez and welcomed our first daughter Nora in January of 2018.  I love spending time with all of my family and am lucky to live close to them! My parents have been a constant support which I am so grateful for.  I am the oldest of my siblings; I have a younger brother and two younger sisters. Spending time with my siblings is one of my favorite pastimes. We love to play sports/games and pretty much compete in everything that we do.

Occupation: I am a high special education teacher at St. Charles East High School.  I mostly teacher special education math classes.

Influences/ Who inspires you: My little sisters.  They inspire me to be a better version of myself.  They bring out the side of me that I like best.

Favorite CK Memory: When I was in Cardinal Key during college my favorite service activity was highway clean-up.  Everyone always thought I was goofy for choosing picking up trash as my favorite service activity.  However, the reason picking up trash had a special place in my heart was growing up my parents and I would kayak around a lake in Wisconsin where we have a lake house and pick up trash out of the water.

Reason for joining the Board: To give back to an organization that had a large influence on shaping my college experience in a positive way.

Favorite quotation: My command is this: Love each other as I have loved you.  Greater love has no one than this: to lay down one’s life for one’s friends. John 15: 12-13

Passion: Loving and serving God and people.

Favorite vacation or dream vacation: My favorite vacation that I have actually been on was to Hawaii for our honeymoon.  It was beautiful and we had so many fun experiences staying on both Maui and Oahu. We went deep sea fishing, did lots of snorkeling, learned to surf, and hiked to waterfalls. Each night we enjoyed finding little restaurants on the ocean and eating fresh fish.

What relaxes you?: Spending time at my family’s lake house kayaking, water-skiing, paddle boarding, and playing cards.  I love that I get to see all my immediate and extended family most weekends during the summer. I also enjoy reading my guilty pleasures (young adult books haha).

Favorite food or meal: I love Mexican food and it worked out well that I married someone who also loves Mexican and makes great tacos.

Stefanie Zahourek, Wayne State College 2009
National Advisor

Education & Occupation: I received my undergraduate degree in Speech Communication with an emphasis in Public Relations and Organizational Leadership from Wayne State College in 2009.  In 2012, I received a Masters of Arts in Communication and a Graduate Certificate in Training and Development from the University of Nebraska at Omaha.  I hold a Wilderness First Responder certification and I am currently taking doctoral courses at the University of Nebraska at Lincoln.

Family: I grew up in a small town with my immediate family (parents, two brothers, and sister), some of my extended family, and all four of my grandparents.  That family is always ever expanding and exploring.  Some of my favorite times are spent with my grandparents, niece, and nephews.

Occupation:  I am the Associate Dean of Virtual Learning for Southeast Community College.

Influences: People pursuing their passion, specifically when it entails the betterment of others or themselves, the outdoors, or serving as a positive influence.  My grandparents, Les and Lois Von Seggern, embody it and so much more.  They have served as key inspiration for a variety of facets in my life.

Favorite CK Memory: All the conferences and board meetings.  I love getting together with such wonderful individuals.

Reason for joining the Board: I wanted to be a part of the bigger picture to assist more chapters and make a larger, lasting impact.

Favorite Quotation: Too many to list

Passion:

  • Leading a life of service- Helping people from physical work to learning something new

  • Outdoors

  • Learning- New information and acquiring different skills and experiences

Favorite simple pleasure: Exploring, being outside/ active, a good conversation, or helping someone

Favorite vacation or dream vacation: Backpacking, bikepacking, river trips, exploring foreign countries or even a new place in general

 

Kristin Walstrom Korneliussen, Truman State University 2004 & 2005
National Advisor, Archives

Education: I received my Bachelor of Arts in English from Truman State in 2004 and then immediately followed that with a Master of Arts in Education-English in 2005.

Family: My husband Jon and I are the proud parents of Elsa (2013), Lena (2016), and Baby “Noodle,” who is expected to arrive in late October/early November 2019. I am originally from Kansas City, while my husband is from Seattle; we moved to Memphis in 2010 and have been here ever since.

Occupation: I am a high school English teacher by trade, but now I primarily stay home with my daughters and teach as an adjunct instructor at a community college.

Influences/Who inspires you: Personally, I am inspired by those closest to me, my dear friends and family, especially my husband and mom. Professionally, I keep in touch with several former teachers I now consider to be mentors and friends.

Favorite CK Memory: Service and sisterhood are so deeply entwined in my CK memories, so if forced to choose, my favorite memory would have to be our semester retreats where we had dedicated time to plan, reflect, and bond.

Reason for joining the Board: CK was such a huge part of my college experience that I was thrilled at the opportunity to become involved once again.

 Favorite quotation: “Outside of a dog, a book is man’s best friend. Inside of a dog, it’s too dark to read.” -Groucho Marx

Passion: I am passionate about my family and truly love motherhood, which is by far the most difficult–yet fulfilling–thing I have ever done. I am also passionate about community and the various ways we are all connected; that said, I also crave the time to recharge through solo activities like reading and writing.

Favorite book: My all-time favorite book is Anne of Green Gables (and its seven sequels). I have been able to relate much of my life to Anne’s, finding something new in each re-read. I love these books so much that my college roommate and I even traveled to Prince Edward Island, Canada, where the story is set.

Random personal fact: I skated for Memphis’s roller derby league for a season (before having children); my alter ego was Hip Czech.

If I could live anywhere and why: I would live in Bamberg, Germany. I did my student teaching at a DoDDS (Department of Defense) high school there, and I am not exaggerating when I say that the experience changed my life. Not only did I make some life-long friends and get to visit many fascinating places, but I also met my husband during that semester. We returned several years later to get married and are anxious to go back with our children someday. Bamberg is magical.

  • Photos?

    Please send your pictures our way!

    Please feel free to tag the National Cardinal Key Facebook group in your CK photos or send them in a message. We would love to share what your chapter is doing.